Safari Stays
Image Alt

What languages do they speak in South Africa?

What languages do they speak in South Africa?

South Africa is a linguistically diverse country with 11 official languages. These languages are:

1. isiZulu
2. isiXhosa
3. Afrikaans
4. Sepedi (also known as Sesotho sa Leboa)
5. English
6. Setswana
7. Sesotho
8. Xitsonga
9. siSwati
10. Tshivenda
11. isiNdebele

Among these languages, isiZulu and isiXhosa are the most widely spoken languages in South Africa. English is also widely understood and commonly used for official and business purposes. Afrikaans, derived from Dutch, is spoken by a significant portion of the population, particularly in the Western Cape and Northern Cape provinces.

It’s important to note that the prevalence of languages may vary depending on the region and the ethnic composition of the area. In urban areas, English is often the primary language used for communication, but in more rural areas, local African languages are more commonly spoken.

You don't have permission to register